OPTICAL ILLUSIONS

No story in nine years of reporting peaked my curiosity like this one.  I could not imagine how someone with a visual impairment would even want to put on a pair of skis, let alone get on and off a ski lift, and then try and navigate their way back down the mountain.  Several weeks ago, I ventured out to Pine Knob and my first look at the mountain had me even more curious.  There were orange vests everywhere and when I looked a little closer, I realized that those were blind people skiing along side someone that could see.  I immediately grabbed my skis and headed up on the lift.  When I got to the top, I just stood there and watched.  There they went, two by two, down the mountain.  Some fast.  Some slow.  But even so, they were skiing.  Blind people skiing?  Yes, I witnessed it and it was AMAZING!  For all the excuses they have to stay in the house during the winter months and not risk falling on the snow and ice, there they were, braving the weather elements and putting their life in someone else’s hands.  The guides call out just a few simple commands such as right, left, and stop.  When a skier can’t hear their guide, they must stop or fall.  I hope after watching this story that all of you will appreciate their ability to fully trust the sound of someone’s voice to keep them safe.  I know I did.  I’m so thankful that Pine Knob graciously donates all the ski time to the wonderful people who belong to Optical Illusions.  If you’d like more information on the club, go to the link below or send me an e-mail at khancock@wdiv.com.

http://www.opticalillusionsski.org

-Katrina Hancock

One Response to “OPTICAL ILLUSIONS”

  1. Brian Says:

    WOW … this is amazing. This has to have been the most insparational news report that I have ever seen.

    The next evening I showed this to my children and told them that you have to trust other people for other people to trust you too.

    This reminds me of the trust activity that we have done at my job.

    While doing that, I have to trust many of the people that I work with so I will not fall.

    This is a true example of major league trust. When they ski with their guide, that really is the true example for trusting another person.

    Way to go Optical Illusions, I hope that your organization will last for ever.

Leave a comment